The present club was formed on 29th October 1947. A pick up boat was offered by a local resident, and racing started within a fortnight. Since then club members have enjoyed many successes sailing both at home and internationally.
The clubhouse was built by club members and was officially opened on 12th October 1957. The starter’s box, located on the top of the clubhouse, is a unique feature of the building, providing a perfect view for the officials on race day.